WIWTW: April 1 – 3 Body Problem, Gen V, Upload, Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire

What am I watching this week? Sometimes I rush to catch up on whatever is buzzy, sometimes I’m discovering something months after it’s released. I will do my best to post weekly on whatever it is I’m streaming!

3 Body Problem

Format: Series (8 episodes)

Streaming Service: Netflix

Genre: science fiction

Length: 45-60 minutes

Logline: Science is broken and events that can only be explained as miracles are occurring. Elite scientists around the world keep dying under mysterious circumstances. A VR game of unexplainably advanced technology lures in those who play it. A group of friends, largely scientists, from Oxford find themselves at the heart of a mystery that might be bigger than humanity itself. 

Key Creatives: The showrunners include David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, best known for adapting a little HBO show called Game of Thrones. (It should be noted they have a third showrunner, Alexander Woo, who I am less familiar with.) The list of executive producers attached is impressive, although EP is a title nebulous enough that it could mean anything when it comes to concrete contributions. Exec producers include Rian Johnson (writer/director of the Knives Out franchise), Brad Pitt, and Rosamund Pike. Benioff and Weiss are again adapting from a beloved book franchise.

Stars: Largely an ensemble piece. I was very excited to see John Bradley (aka Sam Tarly from Game of Thrones) and Liam Cunningham (aka Davos Seaworth, another Thrones alum), both playing against their Thrones character types. The rest of the cast was relatively new to me, but ultimately I was there more for the story than for the performances.  

What to Know: 3 Body Problem is based on a book of the same title, which is the first of a trilogy called Remembrance of Earth’s Past by Chinese science fiction writer Liu Cixin. The TV series makes the story more international by adding a core friend group from all over the world and adapting character arcs to be featured more evenly compared to the book structure. There are two timelines – one taking place in 1960s China during the Cultural Revolution, and another in the present across many locations. 

Thoughts: The mystery and the atmosphere of this show is so compelling. The plot speeds along at a breakneck pace – the end of episode one could be a season finale for a network version of this show. I appreciate the moral gray almost all the characters live in, although the performances themselves didn’t pop for me. This is hard science fiction but with enough human stakes to keep your interest if sci fi isn’t your genre of choice. There is a set piece in ep 5 that I need to go back and rewatch. Remember: you are bugs. 

Gen V

Format: Series (6 episodes)

Streaming Service: Prime Video

Genre: superhero dark dramedy

Length: 40-60 minutes

Logline: Welcome to Godolkin University School of Crimefighting, a school dedicated to shaping the next generation of superheroes. Four students find themselves fighting for more than a good ranking when the cracks in the school’s foundation start showing. 

Key Creatives:  Created by Eric Kripke (who developed The Boys for television), Evan Goldberg (longtime collaborator of Seth Rogen, and creator of The Goldbergs), and Craig Rosenberg. 

Stars: The ensemble cast is largely unknown young actors, the most name recognition going to Patrick Schwarzenegger (who has had some small roles, but is best known for his dad, Arnold). Guest appearances from The Boys are sparingly and tastefully done. 

What to Know: This is a spin-off of the The Boys universe, set at a university that trains young powered individuals, with it’s at the crime fighting school or the performing arts school. It references The Boys without feeling too tied in. Honestly, you can enjoy this show without having seen The Boys, even if you don’t get every reference. Unclear how directly this will tie in to future seasons of The Boys.

Thoughts: As dark as this show is, it has this compelling mystery that keeps me clicking on “next episode.” The power sets are wonderfully unique and used exquisitely. I like that I didn’t have a pre-existing relationship with any of the main actors, so I fully saw them as their role without any baggage. It’s truly The Boys meets Degrassi. I know I’m invested in a show when I’m devastated by a relationship falling apart. I expect a show in The Boy universe to gross me out and fascinate me, but not make me laugh or give me chills. 

Upload (Season 3)

Format: Series (8 eps)

Streaming Service: Prime Video

Genre: AI afterlife sci-fi comedy

Length: 30-45 minutes

Logline: Maybe the digital afterlife isn’t heaven after all. Two versions of Nathan – one living and one virtual – find himself in a love triangle (rectangle?) with Nora and Ingrid. Meanwhile, the mystery of Nathan’s death leads to an even bigger conspiracy.

Stars: The cast is unknown to me, but they nailed the characters out of the gate.

Key Creatives: Created by Greg Daniels, who adapted The Office for the US and co-created Parks & Recreation and King of the Hill

Thoughts: I find it fascinating how many comedy creators feel the urge to create shows about the afterlife (looking at you, Schur.) I love the premise: a comedic love triangle between an uploaded simulated boy, his girlfriend who is paying for his digital afterlife, and the still-alive “angel” employed to act as a concierge for the digital afterlife. I do think by season three, the premise is stretching thin – there are now two Nathans, one uploaded and one downloaded, each dating a different girl, a conspiracy beyond why Nathan was killed, and generally a lot to keep track of. I’m not sure I was as charmed as I was by the first two seasons. This is a show where I find the more serious the stakes get, the more I’m drawn to the side characters who largely provide comic relief. That said, S3 ends on a major cliffhanger, and I was relieved to find out it’s getting a fourth and final season!

Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire

Format: Feature Film

Genre: supernatural comedy-action

Length: 115 minutes (just under 2 hours)

Logline: Two years after reviving the family ghostbusting business and now in the iconic NY HQ, an old supernatural threat leaves the whole family feeling chilled.

Key Creatives: The movie is written by Gil Kenan and Jason Reitman, who wrote Afterlife. Afterlife was directed by Jason while this sequel is directed by Gil.

Stars: Paul Rudd is the charismatic everyman. Finn Wolfhart is there – even though this movie isn’t technically set in the 80s, it has a real 80s vibe. Kumail Nanjiani – who I feel wasn’t shown in the marketing material at all – steals so many scenes. Much of the old gang shows up for a significant portion of this film as well. 

What to Know: This is a direct sequel to 2021’s Ghostbusters: Afterlife. In this Ghost Cinematic Universe, the 80s movies are real historical events and 2016’s female-driven movie never existed.

Thoughts: I watched Afterlife for the first time to prep for Frozen Empire. These are charming, if not instantly iconic in the way the OG film always felt. It’s a good time at the movie theater – the audience at The Grove was enthusiastic, and I found myself laughing out loud pretty often. My boyfriend got a ghost-trap popcorn bucket and at least three men stopped him at the Farmer’s Market after to say how awesome it was. 

Leave a comment